I am Joining the Peace Corps! Off to Azerbaijan!

I am sure that there are some of you that have been wondering what I have been doing with my life. I am officially going to Azerbaijan as an English Teacher. For much of my academic career, I have been fascinated by the intersection of cultures between Europe and the Middle East. I have taken a number of courses at school that have analyzed and fleshed out the relationship between these two regions of the world. This next step in my life is going to be great because I will get to experience the “clash of civilizations” per se. Hopefully, I can shed away the perceptions I have of Central Asia and stop saying there will be a clash of the civilizations. But anyway, the primary region I have chosen to be involved with English Education is because I am interested in studying the close of the achievement gap between wealthy and poor students in the developing world. I have had a lot of experiencing with teaching and working in the education sector for the past 4 years. In fact, I just came back from India where I worked as a full-time English Teacher at a high school this past summer. I hope to further this passion for education into a possible career in education policy. Anyway, I have many things to learn and I cannot wait to see what Azerbaijan teaches me about education.

I hope to give an update about what happened in India this past summer. I have plenty of pictures and stories to share. For all of the Volunteers in AZ8, I cannot wait to meet all of you in Philadelphia.

Leave a Reply

